1968 Starcraft Jupiter - Rebuild

Status
Not open for further replies.

InMotion

Commander
Hi Folks,

I am new to the Starcraft forum. I have a late 60's 16' Starcraft Juniper that I have decided to restore. Please see attached pictures of the beast! I have run across a couple of issues (shocking I know! :) )... one of which is seen in the attached picture entitled "Hull Holes". After gutting the boat, and scrubbing the inside hull of the boat, I ran across some pitting. I poked and scraped at the pitting and sure enough, I was able to puncture the hull with my screw driver! There are now 10 small holes ranging from the end of my flat screw driver to the end of those little nails pulled from the transom cap.

What would you guys recommend to fix these holes? Suggestions are welcomed!!

Attachments

• Interior Before.jpg
    Interior Before.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 29
  • Not Fixed Up.jpg
    Not Fixed Up.jpg
    90.8 KB · Views: 25
  • Interior Removal 1.jpg
    Interior Removal 1.jpg
    146.4 KB · Views: 24
  • Floor Removal 1.jpg
    Floor Removal 1.jpg
    150.8 KB · Views: 24
  • Hull Holes.jpg
    Hull Holes.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 26

jasoutside

Supreme Mariner
Re: Starcraft Juniper Restoration - Saved from the scrap yard...

Re: Starcraft Juniper Restoration - Saved from the scrap yard...

Hey Jim, welcome to iBoats and the Starcraft corner here on the site!

Quick point of clarification,

Juniper...
rob_cl_20090308115817.jpg

Jupiter...
DSCF1923.jpg

Just messin with ya a little:)

Bummer on the corrosion! First step would be to get that as clean as humanly possible. Then maybe a big thin hunk of alum notch trowled with JB Weld or 3m 5200 to seal it up good and reinforce the whole thing.

You have a great project there!

Welcome!

InMotion

Commander
Re: Starcraft Jupiter Restoration - Saved from the scrap yard...

Oops! Yes quite the difference --- juniper vs jupiter!