How to install trim tabs on aluminum boat

skarbownik

Cadet
I have a 2009 Starcraft Fishmaster 196 and I am going to install M80 Bennett trim tabs on it - Only one problem - I cannot get to the transom area to through bolt the trim tabs onto the transom. Starcraft refuses to give any information on the schematics of this area so I have to assume that the transom ,material here is .100 aluminum backed by spray in flotation. I spoke with Bennet and they insist that the through bolt should be used. I am trying to figure out a way the add more "substance to the aluminum in this area and I am thinking of bonding a piece of 1/8 to 1/4 aluminum to the hull with JB weld then using self tapping SS screws to attach the trim tabs - the screws would not only reinforce the JB weld but would also provide substantial support for the screws to hold the tabs on. Bennet says that this may work but will not "ok" the process,

SO _ I am looking for input on this issue - has anyone ever attached tabs to the back of an aluminum boat and how did it work out. Any assistance and input is appreciated.

Kainon

Chief Petty Officer
Re: How to install trim tabs on aluminum boat

No way to get your arm in through the side of the bilge eh?

Lil' Rhody

Seaman

Trim TabMounts.jpg
I think that the mounts in this photo were early options for mounting trim tabs....

elkhunter338

Master Chief Petty Officer

I would not use JB weld will not hold over the long term. I think your idea of add ing a alum. plate is good but you need to get bolts in it with washer and nuts on the back side. At the top of the plate you mightbe where the transmom is and could use 1/4" x 1-1/4 stainless lag bolts, make sure you seal them good so water does not get in to the wood and rot. You still need some bolts at the bottom and if you have no access I would say you are out of luck on putting trim tabs on.