starcraft sea mist hull repair (cracks)

xjdriver

Petty Officer 1st Class
since my motor blew i decieded i should just go ahead and repalce the floor and transom. this is what i found under the floor:blue:, just thought i would get some advice before i just get it welded. crack through the hull is about 4 inches long. 2 braces cracked in the middles and some of small cracks around the rivets on the braces.
i have more and better pics,but the uploader sucks. whats a good way to upload pics?

Attachments

• photo266643.jpg
    photo266643.jpg
    72.2 KB · Views: 5
  • photo266644.jpg
    photo266644.jpg
    64.2 KB · Views: 5

mbroughton02

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Sorry about the crack. I'm no an expert on that. As for the pics, I upload mine to imgur.com and then it will give you the code to copy and paste into your posts. Super easy. Use the "large thumbnail" size.

jbcurt00

Staff member
Post better pix, cant see a 4in crack.

Re-think welding,not the best choice for repairing a rivet built boat.

Furrylittleotter

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Post more shots showing location. My first thought is a patch panel installed with 3m 5200 and peened rivetts, then simply gouge out crack and fill with J-B weld.

Neil

Furrylittleotter

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I see the new pics. Damn. That boat must've been beat to death. Unless it's a family heirloom I'd think about scrapping it and getting a different one.

Neil

xjdriver

Petty Officer 1st Class
I see the new pics. Damn. That boat must've been beat to death. Unless it's a family heirloom I'd think about scrapping it and getting a different one.

Neil
lol ya , not really a family hierloom, but i dont want to get rid of it

Furrylittleotter

Petty Officer 2nd Class