New to the forum

VT Dukhntr

Cadet
I'm new here, joined years ago, but didn't come back. However, now I have a reason and have been trolling the starcraft forum for about a month. I purchased a 1982 bow rider (sorry no pics). The PO said he thought it was an FM160, however, other posts and pictures makes me wonder if it's not a SS160. What are the actual differences between the models? The HIN tells me its a Starcraft, right length, and year. bUT there is also "-a3" after the 12 digit HIN. After a ton of searching, I can't seem to figure out what that means. any ideas?
I will start posting pics when the weather gets nice. I know I need a floor. Not fully shot, but getting soft. Transom, from everything I could see, is in ok shape. As I don't want to mess with it all twice, I intend to replace floor and transom in the spring. This will be a first starcraft rebuild, but I have some experience. Love wood working, and built a 14 foot flat bottom duck boat a few years back. No canoe, I run a short shaft 25 merc on it now. So, marine plywood and epoxy are in my realm of knowledge.
Paid $750 for the boat and a galvanize trailer, and merc 80. I only have the PO claims that the motor isn't an anchor. The interior is shot, but I plan to gut that. The hull is in really nice shape. Little wear and tear, but really clean. That being said, I got a deal for the hull on a trailer, based on what these sell for in VT(been looking for a while). If I gave up today, I'm pretty certain I could walk away ahead if I sold in the spring. I don't plan a full showroom restoration, as some guys, but instead plan on an open floor plan for use as a duck hunting boat for open waters.
Can't wait for warm weather to get into the motor and floor/transom rebuild.

If anyone can help with the A3, I would appreciate it

Thanks Dave.

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Tnstratofam

Commander