2008 glastron GT 185 New to Me! Over reving.

Camdelle

Recruit
So I bought this boat on Friday and used it for the first time yesterday, This is our first boat But I have been driving boats for 35 years.

Here is the issue. On Sunday I went WOT a couple times for a minute or so. It reved up to 5100 rpm and that is to much for the volvo penta 4.3GL.

I would like to re-prop the boat.

Right now I am using a 14.3 x 19p 3 blade that owner put on.

I have a 14.5 x 21p that was original to the boat.

I also have a mercruiser vensura. 48-825900 19p 4 blade SS

As I can Hit 5100 rpm(by the dashboard gauge...(how accurate is that?) and I should be around 4200-4600..... what should I be doing to get these numbers in line?

It looks like original equipment should have been a 23p???

thank you.

Last edited:

Maclin

Admiral
In my estimation a 19 or 21 would be in the ideal range. You may want to verify the tach with a shop tach or dwell meter with the tach option. I think first I would try out the 21p you have, see how it performs for hole shot and top speed and RPM. The previous owner may have used it solely for towing and wanted the hard pull from a dead stop, and just did not go WOT with a light load, hence the 19p fit their needs.

Last edited:

MikDee

Banned
I would think the 21" pitch prop should be perfect for all around, and the 19" pitch 4 blade perfect for skiing, or tubing, Try them!

jkust

Rear Admiral
Double check that 4600 rpm top of your range statement...thinking if it is like the mercruiser 4.3GL it is 4850 at the top. 23 pitch if that is what it came with was just for top speed numbers. That Glastron is a pretty light boat and you are going to get some decent performance out of that high torque 4.3 (though torque is generally not discussed in the marine world as it is in the auto world). I'd switch between the 4 blade 19 and the 3 blade 21 depending on my mission for the day since it takes about a minute to change props.

Camdelle

Recruit