1975 16' Fiberform Deck repair problem

jim1940

Recruit
Hi, I have a 1975 fiberform boat which I am trying to refurbish to a modest condition. I have no experience with boats per say, but do have modest mechanical skills. When repaired I intend to make the boat a gift to my son.
The problem that faces me is after removing the old vynel deck covering I found numorous cracks in the decks surface material.
Question: 1. What will I find under the fiberglass, if and when it is removed?
2. Should I remove the whole deck or repair the cracks?
(The cracks appear to be mainly located in the rear 2 feet of the
deck by the O/B motor).
3. Can anyone inform me what the Fiberform boat deck supporting
substructure is made from...wood, fiberglass, other etc.?
I hope to keep the costs as low as possible. All insights into this problem will be greatly appreciated. Thanks jim1940

Sidserv

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 1975 16' Fiberform Deck repair problem

I just completed the deck/stringer/transom replacement on my 1973 Fiberform. The job unfortunately was not fun. With cracking in the glass you most likely have a rotted out floor. The foam under the floor is probably saturated which in turn you probably have rotted stringers/transom. The stringers on my 73 were sprayed in with a chopper gun and the tops were not sealed. I am guessing yours is the same. I am suprised they were still attached to the boat.

Cpt Crunch

Cadet
Re: 1975 16' Fiberform Deck repair problem