1996 Bayliner 1700, can I put mercury 115 on it?

arctan

Recruit
Hi guys,
sort of new to this forum and need some help with some basic questions. I have a '96 bayliner 1700 with '87 Mercury 90, long shaft. My boat is rated for 120hp and I am looking for upgrade options. I'd like to stay away from Force 120. I am now looking at late 80's, early 90's Mercury 115 engines. My questions are:

-would this be an easy fit for my bayliner? is anyone running Mercury 115 on a similar boat?
-If I do go with a Merc 115, it needs to be with a long shaft, correct? (prob 25") I am new to boating, and hasn't quite figured out 20" vs 25" shaft concept yet...:facepalm:

thanks in advance!

NYBo

Admiral
Re: 1996 Bayliner 1700, can I put mercury 115 on it?

Welcome to iboats!:welcome:

Yes, a Merc 115 should work just fine. The holes in the transom will probably match up (depending on the year of the 115), as should the controls. I believe a 25" shaft is correct also.

That being said, don't expect a tremendous increase in performance from the upgrade.

arctan

Recruit

thanks!

not looking for speed, but I couldn't get my boat planing when it was loaded with stuff on a way to a remote campsite on a lake in Adirondacks, NY. With 115hp I should be able to get it to plane when it's heavy. Should also probably pick up additional 5-10mph when empty...

has anyone installed a Merc 115 on a similar bayliner?

NYBo

Admiral

You may have problems other than the motor HP. Is the current motor reaching the proper RPM at WOT? Is the floatation foam in the boat waterlogged?

arctan

Recruit

Thanks for your replies NYBo. I do need some education being new to boating and your input is much appreciated.

RPMs are fine at WOT. The boat seems to plane fine with just me, my wife and my kid. It was a bit slow to get on a plane with 4 people in it. However, when it was overloaded with camping gear (and I was probably approaching it's max load capacity), it didn't plane. I blame the weight in this case.