Question for those of you running snow plows?

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
I am thinking about changing my plow to a rubber cutting edge, and wondered if anyone that runs a plow on here has tried this, I am plowing close to 2 miles of gravel road, rough gravel road, and of course with the metal cutting edge when you hit a rock, it will jar you, as well as break things, I am just wondering if the rubber cutting edge would cut down on wear and tear and less jarring when you hit something. I have no experience with these new cutting edges at all. My current cutting edge is 3/4 in steel.

ihearth2o

Petty Officer 2nd Class
If your blade is tripping a lot, I would recommend adjusting the shoe height. Rubber edges and gravel drives really don't go well together. You will be going through them like crazy plus they don't really cut into the snow as well as steel so it won't be as clean of a pass.

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
If your blade is tripping a lot, I would recommend adjusting the shoe height. Rubber edges and gravel drives really don't go well together. You will be going through them like crazy plus they don't really cut into the snow as well as steel so it won't be as clean of a pass.

Currently, the plow shoes are adjusted so the blade rides just about an inch and a half off the road surface, so I think I have it adjusted correctly, but the local timber company graded our road this year and it came out pretty rough and they gouged a lot of the larger base rocks up to the surface, and it would be a real pain to try and rent a grader to try and get it back in some type of shape.

kmarine

Chief Petty Officer
I recommend checking with a friend or neighbor and see if they have a tractor with a drag plow blade to level the bad spots at slow speed. This may also help with how bumpy your road is. Snowplow blade skis don't work very well on heavy crowned roads. This is why the tractor drag plow can level off the high spots and fill in the ruts. That catch the truck blade