Goodman packaged heatpump

bigdee

Commander
Anyone have any experience with Goodman PACKAGED heatpumps? I will be needing to replace an old 4 ton split system soon and would prefer a package unit because of limited crawlspace. I have had very good service out of goodman split system heatpumps but have never used a packaged unit. The ductwork needs to be replaced anyway and I like the idea of everything being easily accessible.

hrdwrkingacguy

Petty Officer 1st Class
Just remember you get what you pay for. They are contractor grade units. They also make Amana...As a professional I wouldn't use anything but trane or carrier. Personally when my 2 carrier heat pump split systems die I am going to put a single variable refrigerant flow S series Mitsubishi system piped to 2 air handlers in parallel. One compressor, variable flow, variable tonnage indoor units, installed myself will pay for it self in 3 1/2 years.

bigdee

Commander
Just remember you get what you pay for. They are contractor grade units. They also make Amana...As a professional I wouldn't use anything but trane or carrier. Personally when my 2 carrier heat pump split systems die I am going to put a single variable refrigerant flow S series Mitsubishi system piped to 2 air handlers in parallel. One compressor, variable flow, variable tonnage indoor units, installed myself will pay for it self in 3 1/2 years.

Appreciate the reply. I may go with Trane if close in price. I used to be a electrical/HVAC contractor years ago and have seen many Goodman/Janitrol installs,some are still working after 27 years. That was before R-410 and evaporator leaks so I don't know where they really stand now. I have Goodman units in my family now,3 are residential and one is commercial. Their ages vary from 3 to 18 years and have ran flawless. The reports of evaporator leaks is what I am concerned with. The unit that I plan to replace is a 43 year old Lennox (its still running!)

southkogs

Staff member