Shot shell powder question?

Autotech

Petty Officer 1st Class
Have not done a lot of reloading since son joined the navy and don't shoot clays as much as we use to but I ran out 540 winchester ball powder year before last. Person I bought from went out business and the only thing I can find local is hodgdon's not only am I looking for new source but what kind. 540 is what I've been buying for years in 3lb cans and I'm not even sure Winchester even sells it anymore except in Bulk if at all:confused:. I'm not up on all the new stuff just want to load some 1oz or 1 1/8oz for 12 and 20 gauge maybe a 16 every now and then. I'm not a reload expert by any means:D. Just loaded what the old guy told me to. All my reloading stuff is MEC progressive if if makes any difference. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks BobbyT

Mike722

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Shot shell powder question?

Hodgdon purchased winchester / IMR powders I believe. If Hodgdon is what you can get locally then I would go to their website and read up on what they have to offer. I have used 700X for over 25 years. Last year, I could still find it but purchased Hodgdon Clays as a possible replacement.

I also load pistol rounds and it appears Clays may work for both. I have old stock of 700X and bullseye so I have not loaded any of the Clays yet.

xxxflhrci

Chief Petty Officer

So what are you guys paying for powder in your neck of the woods?....I have it good. I live near a powder plant. Employees can order a limited amount of powder every few months. I have a hook up that gets it for me. I ordered 6lbs this week...It costs me 11-12 bucks a pound.:)

Cofe

Lieutenant Commander

I have been using clays, and it has been working pretty good. I belong to a local gun club, and several of the guys and gals pool together and buy supplies in bulk. Cheaper that way.
Hogdon has some good info at their web site to work up different loads. http://www.hodgdon.com/hodgdon.html

Autotech