Smart Phone Calender?

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner
I am just getting into using my bundled smart phone calendar app. So far it is pretty nifty. You can load in an appointment date and set it to notify with a chosen amount of time in advance. So if you have a doctor's appointment on a Friday, you can have it give you a heads up two days in advance.

Some of the things that I will load in will be for years in advance, ie, things such as various permit renewals that do not give you any reminders.

My question is, what happens if you loose your phone. Even if you just changed phones, it would be a PIA to go thru your calendar and find entries some years in advance as well as even transfer more current appointments.

southkogs

Staff member
There's typically cloud backup available for most of those. I use the iCalendar that's native in the Apple stuff, and all of mine is associated with my iCloud. You can probably tie into Google Calendar and just update that way. Then you can access it across platforms.

jbcurt00

Staff member
IIRC, you can tie your android phone to a google (or other) acct. And setup up calendars that backup to that acct. So I can also load my phone calendar on a pc via gmail and google calendar. Adding appts/dates there will auto-update to the phone.

I just checked and my droid calendar is tied to a gmail acct.

So as long as I have access to that gmail acct, reloading that to a different/new phone, populates the phones calendar.

I think MSN/Hotmail/Outlook can also be used similarly to gmail.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
If your phone is sync'd with your email account and calendar ( I'm sync'd with 3 email accounts and calendars), re-syncing the new phone , you would be good to go.

I use my backup pro and once a month, completely back up my phone.

For work reasons, I don't use cloud backup

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner