Windows 10??

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
I got an icon that I can click and get Win 10 but am hesitant. But at the same time I hate Win 8.1 with a passion so I am really tempted try it. Has anyone else made the change yet and what do you think of it?

rogerwa

Commander
It won't upgrade when you click on it. It will just tell them you want it.. I believe it becomes available July 29th or something like that. If you elect for it, it will download the distribution to your machine and you will have the opportunity at that point to install or not. I am on Win7 and opted for it. I don't know if I will upgrade or not, but at least I'll have the choice when it is released.

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
I have been running the technical release for 5 months now, it is a nice OS and will be easy to run, if you like what you have, don't upgrade, if you don't like what you have it is worth looking at. I actually like 8.1, but I have also installed a small program so I have the regular desktop with a start menu, which is what most people don't like, it was to much of a change , we were all raised with the start button and desktop. I have run the small program to make 8.1 run like 7 for a couple of years now and see very little difference between it and 7.

Windows 10, is going to be a comfortable upgrade so people can get familiar with it what we had in the past again. I don't like the fact, they will be moving more and more to having the OS running on the cloud and not on your computer.

aspeck

Staff member
MT, I have done the same with Windows 8.1. It was a pain setting up the way I liked and was used to and there were some things that I had to learn to do differently. I hated it for the first few weeks, but I am okay with it now ... because I have it as close to 7 as possible.

angus63

Captain