Will a day ever go by that I wont have to spend money on my boat?

zigbat

Seaman
I'm new to boating, in fact this is my 1st boat, I like it alot but sometimes I feel like trading it in for an airplane..
I dont know anything about flying airplanes either, but as soon as I take off in a plane it will crash me to death
instead of nickel and dimeing me to death like this boat..

Actually, it's a really nice 1988 OMC Cobra 2.3L SeaSwirl with a nice ShoreLand'r roller trailer (thank God)
well, it was nice untill I got it.. I am good at 2 things so far, running aground, and tearing stuff up, they seem
to go hand in hand.. But I'm getting better.. Not at boating in general, I'm getting better at tearing stuff up...

It's fun though.. But seriously, I'm winterising for the first time and learning as I go
I am learning words like "Bellows" "Transom Seals" and "Cracked Lower Unit"
I think next season i will try and stay in water deeper than 8 inches a little more often...
But from what i gather, wintertime is when boaters like you guys and dangerous new boat owners like me
get to dump money into our toys to take it next summer and pretty much set ourselves up to dump money into our toys..

Have any of you guys experienced a day you havent had to spend money on your boats?
If so.... How long did it take before it happened???

Boat1.jpg

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
I don't dump money into my boats.
I have not trashed a prop in about 30 years.
Never a lower unit.

I have bought 2 motors that needed part, because I didn't know better when I bought them.
One was a 1972 Merc 9.8 hp that had a bad water pump and a plugged water tube.
The other was a 1983 Merc 115 that had a bad switchbox.

I do spend money on upgrades though.
And have taken more than one $400 hull and turned it into a $4000 boat.

My current boat has gotten nothing by fresh gear lube for 4 years, and I added a second battery as a backup.

aspeck

Staff member