New to boating with big dreams

lonestar1017

Recruit
Hi everyone. I am new to boating. Honestly do not have one yet. But, I have been looking into getting a boat to live on. Have a plan mapped out to get one. Was hoping to get some education through experienced boaters to help avoid costly pitfalls and bad choices. Maybe make some friends along the way. Been hitting everything I can find boat related from free boats that need a little tlc to inexpensive boats. Sailboats, cabin cruisers. Lots of options out there but again I have no experience to draw on. Any thoughts and comments would be welcome and appreciated.

lonestar1017

Recruit
Thanks. Probably the best good advice. And the link you provided will be helpful. I will read it and learn. Thanks again.

southkogs

Staff member
Sailboat - Houseboat - Cruiser ... each VERY different from another.

What kind of water are you going to be living on? Just you, or are there more?

Welcome aboard.

lonestar1017

Recruit
At this point in my big dream, I am looking at the independence of the open ocean. As for my boat choice, I like the advantage of free propulsion of wind, with an engine as a backup if needed. On the other hand I like the living space afforded by some of the cabin cruisers I've looked into like the Chris Craft Corinthian. When I do get to the point of actually buying a boat I won't have a great deal of money to work with. While I understand the expense of maintenance, I also have come to understand that living on a boat is relatively cheap depending on choices made. ie being anchored rather than moored somewhere. Producing my own electric via solar/wind/generator. To reiterate, I have no experience in boating, so any advice in setting a good course is a priceless value to me and is greatly appreciated.

mxcobra

Chief Petty Officer
sounds like you wanna be a pirate,... Well me too.....

redneck joe

Supreme Mariner