Looking for first pair of skis

Flysooner9

Seaman Apprentice
Just about to purchase my first boat and starting to look at accessories now. Will be looking for a pair of skis and a tube or 2. Would my best bet be looking for a pair of used skis to start out with? I've skied a few times before but the majority of us will be complete newbies. We also have a pretty wide variety of sizes from my wife who is 105lbs to my dad who is about 200. Would it even be possible for those two to be able to ski on the same set?

Also wondering if brands are a big deal or not for a first pair of basic combo skis? Any advice would be great thanks. Cant wait till spring.

oldjeep

Admiral
Re: Looking for first pair of skis

Combo skis are pretty cheap. On sale you're looking at about $100-$150 a pair and they'll last forever

For a 105 to 200 range I'd suggest 2 pairs though. If your goal is to just have people learn how to ski, brand doesn't matter just find something with decent bindings. I prefer the sandal style for large combos since they will fit a wide range of feet comfortably.

electricjohn

Petty Officer 1st Class

Typical lengths are 57" and 68", both being 6" wide. Flat bottom skis, as opposed to concave and tunnel concave bottoms, have less drag and are less tiring. Easier for a learning beginner too.

hockynut2

Cadet

Look for a pair of Cypress Gardens **** Pope skis. They are a great set of skis for anyone to learn on. Older wood skis but very reliable. I started when I was 5 with a pair of kid skis, by age 10 I was using these and still to this day 20 yrs later and at 210lbs can still use them.

floater212

Petty Officer 2nd Class