Custom wakeboard tower

jimtur

Cadet
is that someone has already tried to build its propore wakeboard tower with welded aluminum tubes?

I'm a industrial designer since 15 year and I intend to drawn and built my own wakeboard tower.

Here the design (virtual) and the look on the boat (virtual).

I'm very happy about the final result, look is unique!!! Tower is very easy to "folder", I can do that with 2 fingers!!! Total price is 800$CAN, including rolled aluminium tube, laser cut plate, powder coated silver paint, fasteners and fiberglass reinforcement inside wall of boat. And 12 hours of labor and 25 hours of drawings (include 10 differents design). Let me knwo if somebody is interested to make one similar to thais one, I have all drawing and they are easy to modify for an other boat size.

custom wakeboard tower.jpgtower collapsed.jpgP1080401-s.jpgP1080405-s.jpgP1080415-s.jpg

a Newbie

update 2013-09-15 : aluminium tube picture added

update 2013-10-09 : assembled tower picture added

update 2013-10-10 : assembled tower picture added

Last edited:

deejaycee_2000

Captain
Re: Custom wakeboard tower

A friend of mine built his own, but from stainless .... Your design looks really neat! personally I think you need to spread the 2 points further away from each other, last thing you want is the connection point ripping out the boat .... but being an industrial designer why don't you design a hydraulic system so it it folds down itself that would be awesome ....

jimtur

Cadet

my tower have 24" between both anchor to the boat, compare to 12" of some aftermarket tower. I will install UHMW plastic sheet between aluminium anchor and the boat gelcoat. UHMW plate will absord hard shock and prevent gelcoat damage. Boat will be reinforced from the inside with wood sheet and fiberglass. I just ordered all part, more pics coming soon.

theBrownskull

Chief Petty Officer