Wakeboard rope vs standard rope

jjschwi

Cadet
Does anyone think its worth the money to drop $120 on a no stretch wakeboard rope? Currently I'm in my second year wakeboarding, I'm 36 years old with an 11 year old who loves to wakeboard as much as me, we use a sea-ray for the tow boat, and we are getting pretty good air off our boat, we have a wake tower as well. I'm considering getting a nice rope, and wanted to know people's opinion going from your standard $40 typical rope to one of these no stretch ropes. Did they make a big diffrence, could you tell right away the diffrence, did it improve your wakeboarding skills, jumping etc...

mitchell2345

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Wakeboard rope vs standard rope

Does anyone think its worth the money to drop $120 on a no stretch wakeboard rope? Currently I'm in my second year wakeboarding, I'm 36 years old with an 11 year old who loves to wakeboard as much as me, we use a sea-ray for the tow boat, and we are getting pretty good air off our boat, we have a wake tower as well. I'm considering getting a nice rope, and wanted to know people's opinion going from your standard $40 typical rope to one of these no stretch ropes. Did they make a big diffrence, could you tell right away the diffrence, did it improve your wakeboarding skills, jumping etc...

I did the same thing this year. It makes a diff but not a huge diff that's for sure.

99bison

Cadet

Made a "big" difference for us, similar situation with ages to yours, plus a few other old ones like us :). I guess depends on what your definition of big is, however now that I purchased one, I certainly wouldn't go back. For a better price (~$60) try the lime green airhead one off amazon, we have and like that one.

The biggest change was the consistency in line tension - it helps keep body position right. Similarly, you also get the "proper" feel for what's actually happening vs. bungee effects with stretch ropes.

TXREBEL

Cadet