Towing with a 2007 and newer 5.7 Tundra

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander
I am thinking about replacing my '99 Durango with something newer and with a higher tow capacity. I've been towing 7400 lbs with the Durango for the last 10 years and it's been great (the drive train still runs like new at 160,000 miles), but it's rusting out and little things on it are falling apart. I have had excellent service from my 2005 Toyota Matrix and am thinking about another Toyota. My plan, regardless of the brand I buy, is to fly south to some place where rust is not an issue and pick up a used truck with around 100,000 miles on it and drive it home. I figure this will make the best economic sense and give me a chance to wear out the drive train at roughly the same time that the body rusts out.

For those that tow with a Tundra, how well does it do? Any issues I should know about? How does it do with 10,000 lbs or more? I figure 7400 lbs won't be an issue at all with 380+ HP considering I was able to tow it just fine with only 245 HP.

keith2k455

Chief Petty Officer
I'm not sure about this specific truck, but its sure a topic I'm interested in because I plan to upgrade after this boat season and the Tundra is one of my interests. My thought is to not put too much into it, like you said, a 10 yr upgrade is sure to be an improvement.

alldodge

Staff member