Adding Back Up Lights

samm835

Chief Petty Officer
I am looking for Ideas, I want to add bright (white) back up lights to my trailer. I have a 21 ft boat, and when I come home at times it is dark. My driveway is long and on a hill. I have backed it up for years, I can almost do it with eyes closed......but sometimes not so. OK, onto my questions. To be basic and SIMPLE (key word). I am not an electrical engineer, but I am pretty handy. So what is the best way and easiest to install a set of lights and wires on to the trailer. I only want them to be on when I get in drive....so maybe only on when i get out and turn on with flip of switch type deal.
Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral
why not install a relay in the backup light circuit in the tow vehicle and have them on whenever you put it in reverse just like any back up light.... done deal

Bondo

Staff member
I am looking for Ideas, I want to add bright (white) back up lights to my trailer. I have a 21 ft boat, and when I come home at times it is dark. My driveway is long and on a hill. I have backed it up for years, I can almost do it with eyes closed......but sometimes not so. OK, onto my questions. To be basic and SIMPLE (key word). I am not an electrical engineer, but I am pretty handy. So what is the best way and easiest to install a set of lights and wires on to the trailer. I only want them to be on when I get in drive....so maybe only on when i get out and turn on with flip of switch type deal.
Thanks in advance.

Ayuh,... What sorta wirin' whip ya got 'tween the tow unit, 'n wagon,..??

A 4 pin flat will be tough, as ya don't have any extra pins,...

How 'bout addin' higher more powerful lights to the tow unit,..??
I've got a couple on my ladder rack on my truck,...

gm280

Supreme Mariner