changing tire size

jahightop

Recruit
New to this forum although I've been pulling trailers of all types for over 50 years. I have a bass tracker trailer that I got with a 17' bass boat. Its a nice enough trailer but I'd like to change the wheel/tire size from 13 to 14 inches so that I can get higher load rated tires for the trailer.
Does anyone have any experience doing this - I'm sure that I would have to change the fenders - any pitfalls or advice?
Thanks
JC

BrianNJ

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: changing tire size

I know someone that had problems with blown tires on his pontoon boat trailer. He increased wheel size and it solved the problem. He had to raise the fenders. I would have to check to see if any other changes were needed.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

I can't imagine any 17' bass boat that couldn't be properly supported by 13" trailer tires.... I think you are looking for a solution to a nonexistent problem

welcome.....

why do you need a higher load rating on the tire? if the original tires are at there max load rating then the axle is probably near or at max as well.

H20Rat

Vice Admiral

Tires are part of the suspension in a boat trailer. Going for maximum overkill in the load rating just means your boat gets beat up more on road bumps.

bonz_d

Vice Admiral

The only reason I would change tire size would be to gain or lose some ground clearance.

KX6D

Seaman

I'll answer your question since the others didn't...

Your first issue will be fender interference. Make sure the fenders will not come into contact with the tire at full suspension compression.