What is your opinion/experience with bearing buddies?

Billys Barge

Cadet
My trailer has factory grease zerk dust caps but they dont have the springs like the bearing buddies, I have been thinking about installing BB with the springs but I have heard they give you false confidence and that the back bearing can fail because it doesnt get proper lubrication. I'm repacking the bearings this weekend and replacing the seals so now would be a good time to install the BBs. I have also heard that having too much grease can cause a build up of heat because the grease acts as an insulater. So I have thought about plugging the weep hole and just repacking the bearings once a year and not using the grease zerks at all. By the way I'm new to boating so my fear of water getting into the grease is why I'm asking all these questions. Thanks!!!

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: What is your opinion/experience with bearing buddies?

Bearing buddies are not a replacement for periodic removal, cleaning, inspection, packing by hand, and installation. It doesn't have to be done annually but certainly after evry 3 - 4 years. Bearing buddies have been installed on every trailer I ever owned and I've never had a bearing failure. The problem is most folks don't read the instructions and pump the hubs full of grease until they blow out the rear seal. You pump those up until the disc just barely moves (the spring compresses a bit). A rubber/plastic boot should then be placed over the unit. Picky point -- but those are grease "zerks" not grease "zerts".

Billys Barge

Cadet

Do you think the BB help keep water out of the bearing grease? Thanks for the help and I fixed the zert issue lol.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus