Will this transom saver work?

Mike in Tac

Seaman
I have a 14' Livingston with a 25hp Evinrude outboard. I got an Atwood transom saver today, but the fine print on the package says that power tilt/trim is required to use transom saver. I don't have power tilt and trim. After talking to 4 staff people at the store, no one could tell me why I supposedly need the tilt/trim. Does anyone know? Do you think I can use this transom saver anyway?

Thanks,
MIT

Mikeyboy

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Will this transom saver work?

My guess would be that with power tilt/trim the hydraulics are taking the weight of the motor. Aka they are limiting their liability. I'd bet you are just fine using it, but I'm rather new to this myself so I'd still seek others advice as well.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

The pressure from the hydraulics is used to "lock" the transom saver in place.

In your case, when (not if) the motor bounces up, the saver can flop out and fall.

I'm guessing you have a saver that fits over the roller on the trailer.

One like this :

t_80_02.gif

that attaches to the trailer, is what you need.

Mikeyboy

Chief Petty Officer

Good point roscoe. That's why I suggested the op seek other advice as I am obviously a novice myself. I believe the Atwood transom saver comes with two ends one that is a u shaped bracket that slides over a roller and the other is a small metal bracket that can be bolted to the trailer and secured to the transom saver with a quick disconnect pin. That is what I use on my non power tilt motor. I wasn't thinking of that aspect when I answered before.

Deeppowder

Seaman Apprentice

I also have a 14ft and a 25hrs. What i do is strap the bottom of the motor to the trailer around the transom saver. It stops the motor from bouncing in the transom saver.

lncoop

Vice Admiral

And by the way, if you plan to continue this discussion please use the proper term, motor deflopperizer.

Mike in Tac

Seaman