Pontoon to trailer straps

Status
Not open for further replies.

pugbro

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I just purchased a used 20 ft Pontoon boat from my brother-in-law and he delivered it to me a few days ago ( a distance of over 200 miles), and I noticed it has no way of securing the pontoon boat to the trailer. Brother-in-law stated he had never seen a pontoon tied down. I am new to the boating scene and I was just wondering is he crazy or am I????..I think I would feel better with the boat secured to the trailer.
Any comments will be appreciated

pugbro

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Pontoon to trailer straps

I know this belongs in the trailer and towing forum but that particular site doesnt seem to get much action/reaction...So my question is..Should a pontoon be secured to the trailer just like any other boat??? I purchased a 20 ft pontoon from my brother-in-law who trailered the boat over 200 miles to my house without a single strap except for the one on the winch. He said he had never seen a pontoon tied down....Is he crazy or is it me??? I think I would feel much better towing a boat that was secured to the trailer..............
Any and all comments are welcomed.

zach103

Commander
Re: Pontoon to trailer straps

im not sure.. others willl deff tell you exactly but i would secure it no matter what.. there have been some pictures on here of boats that flew up toward the tow vehicle because they had to stop fast.. i think the pontoon could do the same (like i said im not sure) .. but like they say better safe than sorry.. rather spend 5 mins securing the boat than 5k repairing it

just my 2 cents

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Pontoon Straps

I was just wondering is he crazy or am I????..

Ayuh,...... He's Nuts,..... you're showing signs of Sanity........:D

Any Load should be apart of it's Trailer,..... Always.....

BeerMonkey

Seaman