Trailer Dolly

jonewby

Cadet
Hello all. I'm new to iboats so please excuse if this is not the correct place for my question. I have a very tight parking area at the end of a long curvy drive so backing in all the way is not an option. To maneuver my boat to it's gravel pad takes many back and forth's and the area is so tight that I end up running up on the lawn anyway (yes I can back a trailer - 20+ years with from 2 to 6 horse trailers). Anyway here's the question. I noticed a trailer dolly in the latest Harbor Freight flyer. My boat with trailer is approx. 2500# with a tongue weight of around 250#. Anyone ever use one of these gems? Is my rig too heavy for just me pushing and pulling on asphalt to gravel?

BrianS.

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Trailer Dolly

Have you considered putting a ball on the front of your truck to manuever the trailer?

CATransplant

Admiral

Those trailer dollies work fine on level solid surfaces. They aren't so great on hills or in gravel, though. Unless your driveway is level, I'd be leary of them...that's a lot of weight to be pushing around or to be pushing you around on a slope. :eek:

jeeperman

Lieutenant Commander

And it gets tougher to push if it is a dual axle trailer.

Do you have a lawn tractor/mower?

Bindernut

Seaman

Them dollies come in handy. I've got a homemade one that I use for tucking the boat and my sled trailer into the dark corners of the shop for storage. I used the dolly from the Northern Hydraulic catalog as a pattern...it's basically the same one that HF has in their catalog.

If you're wheeling on gravel, get bigger tires for easier rolling. Mine uses 5.30x12 (same size as my boat trailer...I took the old dry-rotted tires off of the boat trailer and used em on the dolly).

Ditto on the pushing around on a slope...these work best for level ground only, especially if there is gravel involved.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus