Boat sliding down trailer when towing

navygin21

Recruit
Hey there, I am a total novice and some advice would be great. I recently purchased a 2003 Glastron 205 SF and it is on a single axle trailer. Every time we drive the 20 miles from the storage facility to the dock and vise versa the boat tends to slide down the trailer by 3-4 inches. It is winched down tight from the front and there are two ratchet straps from the boat to the trailer in the back. After the trip, upon inspection the winch is still tight and so are the ratchet straps in the back. Am I doing something wrong or would a boat naturally slide down a bit?

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Welcome aboard.

When the boat is freshly winched and strapped at the transom, is the keel resting on the rollers and the bow against the bow stop?

If the front keel roller is not bearing weight, the boat will settle causing what you are seeing.

navygin21

Recruit
Thank you for the quick response. The boat rests against the bow stop but I will have to check to verify about the keel rollers tomorrow. The only thing I can think is maybe the winch is going out. The trailer is a 1994 and it looks like the winch may be the original. It probably doesn't help that the roads here in Southern California are very bumpy.

ajgraz

Lieutenant Commander
Is the winch strap brand new? Might need a bit before it is fully stretched.

oldjeep

Admiral
Post a picture of the winch post/ front of boat. Could have to do with the height of the winch post in relation to the bow eye or even that the strap is wound on the reel backwards.

tpenfield

Staff member
My 24 footer would always seem to 'rest' back a few inches on the trailer after traveling, even though it was tied down in the back. I think it may have something to do with the action of the boat on the trailer when you went over rough road surfaces or bumps.

I figure as long as the boat did not fall off of the trailer, it was all good. :)

navygin21

Recruit