bunk board brackets - normal?

rayaa3

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1998 trailmaster trailer, which carries a 20ft 1998 smokercraft 2030 deckboat, which is seems to be custom matched to (same color as boat trim, boat brand name on trailer). I've had the boat/trailer for 5 years. I would guess I'm the 3rd owner. I recently decided that after 18 years it was time to replace bunk boards. The bunks on the trailer appear to be factory originals (under the carpet is something scribed in marker that leads me to believe they are original).

I think the boat sat at a dock when not in use for a period of it's life, given that it has bottom paint, and the condition of the zincs on the outdrive - neither of which are very common in Oklahoma. I attribute this to the long bunk life, 18 years is a long time for bunks. However, it's time. I'm replacing them with ultimate bunk boards - I want the slickness, and lack of maintenance.

My replacment bunks came in the mail and I was doing some last minute inspections - I'm planning on taking it out to the lake, and putting it in the water while I replace the boards.

I'm planning on keeping my existing brackets, which connect to the trailer support via a single bolt, and allow the bunk head to pivot for a 'custom fit' (this is absolute garbage btw, the pivot head just means that if they get loose it can kick around when loading in a cross wind and become a pain in my rear).

The part that I found surprising, and I wanted to ask about was that the pivot head only connects to the bunk via a single bolt. Almost every example of trailer bunk I can find online uses 2 bolts on head to connect to the bolt.

Should I have any concern about this? I reasoned to myself that I believe this is original equipment and it lasted this long. Additionally, the only purpose of the bolt is to old the bunk to the head. I just found it odd.