Epoxy repair advice

First post, and I hope my image uploaded. Just bought an old sloop, 12 ft, in good condition, but this pic shows the bow where the mainstay attaches. I'll need to replace the plywood block, but what type of epoxy should I use to secure it? Will Marine Tex do the job?
Thanks in advance. I can provide more pics if necessary.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    144.2 KB · Views: 0
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    68.2 KB · Views: 0

seattle scott

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Epoxy repair advice

It really should just have sealant /calk between the deck and the plate and then be thru bolted with a backing block ( piece of 1/2 " ply) on the underside of the deck. Can you get access to thru bolt or not enough room in the bow?

dohcdelsol93

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I'm not familiar with your particular sailboat but I have had lots of experience with restoring my first sailboat which had both a hole in the transom and later found a crack aft of the keel trunk. I also had to completely rebuild the swing keel, encased steel plate in fiberglass.

I used uscomposites fiberglass epoxy. West systems is nice but too much $$$.

The transom was repaired by me about 3 years ago.

The keel was rebuilt by me last fall.

The crack in the hull was repaired by me late last fall.

After the repair and 48-72 hr dry time i coated with epoxy base coat then an antifouling paint.

The boat sits in the water every day and has since last Oct and is still dry as can be.

The best part about fiberglass is that it's very forgiving, if you mess up you can always re do it and no harm done if you are moderately careful.

Dont let any epoxy resin touch your skin, some folks can have an allergic reaction to it.