What oil do you use in your 2 stroke?

brick75

Petty Officer 1st Class
Sorry if this question has been beaten to death, but I'm new to the world of PWC ownership and was just wondering what oil everyone uses in their 2-stroke ski's? Just bought a 2004 Yamaha XLT 800, and I'm not really wanting to spend $35 a gallon on Yamalube if I don't need to.

Any reason why Pennzoil Marine XLF TC-W3 2-Cycle Engine Oil wouldn't work just as well (at about half the cost)?

Thanks

Brian 26

Chief Petty Officer
Re: What oil do you use in your 2 stroke?

As long as the engine does not have power valves you can burn the cheap stuff.

timmyboy76

Petty Officer 3rd Class

even with power valves, you can burn the cheap stuff. All "synthetic" oil does, is lengthen the intervals of "cleaning" the powervalves.

jafo9

Petty Officer 2nd Class

you also worry about clogging the cat on those models.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral

If you pre-blend it won't matter. But if you are using the oil injection system are you sure the PZ will meter correctly? My friend had the same ski and he had a lot of problems with his oil system.

timmyboy76

Petty Officer 3rd Class

If you pre-blend it won't matter. But if you are using the oil injection system are you sure the PZ will meter correctly? My friend had the same ski and he had a lot of problems with his oil system.

its a variable rate injection. With motor idling, its puting oil into the intake. More throttle, morethe O/I is squirting...

JimS123

Fleet Admiral

its a variable rate injection. With motor idling, its puting oil into the intake. More throttle, morethe O/I is squirting...

Yeah right.....LOL.

The oil pump works on an Engineering algorithm. So far so good on a new ski. When the pump malfunctions, or the lines get clogged, or the properties of the oil change, you got too much oil sometimes and not w\enough other times.

In theory, you are correct. In actual practice, they DO malfunction.

sixfigures

Petty Officer 2nd Class