Jazz jet boat, first time out, didn't snap fuel cap closed, engine died, help?

jordanclark

Cadet
Hi iBoaters

I'm a total newbie here & to boating and I need a little advice. I just bought a '97 Bayliner Jazz 14' jet boat, we just took it out for our first family boat trip. I filled up the gas, I closed the cap but forgot to snap the lock closed. The boat started up and drove fine for 10 minutes. When I slowed down to retrieve an overboard hat the boat wake caught up, pushed the boat a little and within 5 seconds the engine died at low speed, sputtered when trying to restart, and then wouldn't start at all. I'm guessing some wake water went right into the fuel tank. Is this a common thing to happen? Will fresh water kill the engine that quickly? Could the water have damaged the engine?

If this is likely the cause should I attempt to drain the fuel tank and put in some methyl hydrate to get the water out? Should I get/install a fuel water separator kit?

I'm not terribly skilled with engines, but I like to try to do things myself if I can. Please advice if I should attempt or take it to a marine shop to get serviced?

Does anyone have a Bayliner Jazz shop manual?

Thanks very much for your time. I hope this very disappointed screw up of mine can be fixed so we can get out and enjoy summer on the lake.

Jordan

aksor

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Jazz jet boat, first time out, didn't snap fuel cap closed, engine died, help?

Hi

Water is heavier than gas hence it will sink to the bottom of the tank your fuel pickup is also at the lowest point so the fuel pump will suck up the water fill up the carb bowls with water shutting down your motor as it does not burn.