right prop for 60 ETEC / Alumacraft Navigator with planing issues

lou radwan

Recruit
Hi,

We have a 2012 60 HP ETEC tiller on an Alumacraft Navigator. It came stock with a 13.5 x 15 pitch prop, which works fine with 2 guys in the boat. With 3 guys, trolling motor/battery, full livewell, I cannot get the boat to plane. We bought a 13.75 x 13 pitch prop which has dramatically improved the holeshot (gotta hang on now, or your gonna be in the bottom of the boat!), but we went from 30 mph to 24 mph.

What will going to a SS 13.37 x 15 pitch do for us? Provide a better holeshot than the 15 pitch aluminum? I have never used a SS prop before.

Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Thanks!

PS, the 15 pitch aluminum hits about 5600 to 5700 RPM, the max is 6000 I believe.

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
Re: right prop for 60 ETEC / Alumacraft Navigator with planing issues

Welcome to Iboats,

With a 13 you should be reaching + 300-400 more revs, probably at wot rpm limit, what does your tach read ? Probably will benefit switching to a 4 blade prop ? You can keep the standard delivered prop to go outing lightly loaded and an extra one to dial best prop for opt boat/engine optimization under more load. Can't have best hole shot at top speed, kind of one opposing the other. Will naturally have less top speed, but better overall hole shot. Besides nobody runs at guzzling wot all the time, unless you happen to own a gas station.

Happy Boating

Last edited:

lou radwan

Recruit

Welcome to Iboats,