Ventilation on pontoon boat - New prop? Doel fins?

Tompen

Seaman Apprentice
Hello. I'm relatively new to the boating world, but I've been learning a bit from these forums. I have a 1989 Stratos 24' pontoon boat. I bought it a few yrs ago with a 90 hp Johnson. I had some moderate ventilation problems at 'high' speeds - mostly occurring when turning or too much weight in the front. I recently blew up my Johnson and just replaced it with a 115 hp Evinrude (1996).

The new motor has much more power, which I'm very happy with, but the ventilation is actually worse than my previous motor. This is probably explained by the fact that my new motor goes faster and it ventilates at the same speed as it did before, only now I have more room above my ventilation speed - around 21-22 or so. My mechanic said both motors had the same length shaft (20" I believe). Also, both motors were/are set as low as possible.

So a couple questions...

I got the new motor from a 19 ft glasspar fishing boat and I have not yet changed the prop (I believe its a 14x15 or possibly a 14x17). The prop is in great shape, but it is likely original and is not cupped or anything special. At WOT my tach reads 4700 and thats with some ventilation occuring - so its probably more like 4300. So I need a new prop. I'm thinking of getting a hydrus 14x15 prop thats supposedly cupped and designed for pontoons. Can I expect a SIGNIFICANT improvement in ventilation simply from going to this prop?

Question 2- I've read all the opinions on the Doel Fins, and they seem promising. But... it seems like they work best for hole-shot, and my problem is the opposite; my ventilation only occurs when I'm going full speed. Does anyone think these might help my ventilation problem?

Sorry to be so wordy, and thanks in advance for any advice.

jestor68

Commander
Re: Ventilation on pontoon boat - New prop? Doel fins?