Mirage 19p vs Mirage 17p?

boykster

Cadet
I just found out today that I don't have the 'correct' prop on my boat. The manual recommends a Mirage 19p (15.25" 3 blade w 19" pitch), but I have a Mirage 17p (17" pitch). I will admit I'm a prop noob (and haven't done my research yet - I will), but overall what difference in boat responsiveness would I notice if I switched to the 19p prop? I've never driven the boat with any other prop, and when it's running properly, I can't say I've noticed any 'issues', but the boat is an '89 SeaRay 250DA with a 7.4L/BravoI and she's not the most agile of boats, nor the fastest.

I'm not quick to just buy a new prop because the book says I'm running the 'wrong' one, more just curious how much of a factor 2" different pitch has on the performance of a boat....

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Mirage 19p vs Mirage 17p?

I think you need to reread your post looks to me like your running a 19pitch like the book suggests.
Also its not unusual to select a different pitch to help improve performance for your particular
needs.

boykster

Cadet

sorry - re-read post and I meant to say I'm running a Mirage 17p...I blame the fumes from replacing my carb ;-)

I guess I'm just curious what difference moving 2" of pitch makes...I'll read some threads here and see

craze1cars

Lieutenant Commander

2" of pitch probably will change your rpms at full speed by about 300 to 400 rpms. A 19 will spin your motor that much slower than a 17. Increasing pitch will generally make a boat "less responsive"....slower to plane out. Maybe bump your top speed a hair...but that all depends on how you are currently propped.

How did you "find out" you have the incorrect prop? That is based entirely on your RPMS, and you haven't shared any RPM info with us.

At full speed, wide open throttle, trimmed out, light load: How fast is the boat (mph), and exactly what RPMS is the engine turning? Based on that, we can tell you whether your prop is correct or not.

boykster