Should we switch from F6 to F7? Volvo DP-SM DuoProp

rangoneer

Cadet
Well the long and the short of it is, that we turned our 350 into a 383 stroker and now it is putting down a lot better power. It will accelerate to top speed faster than before. We have the F6 on there now and that produces 50mph (GPS) top end (before and after). And, it will hold top speed easier than before also.

There have been a couple F7s on craigslist and ebay going for half price. With the new added low end torque, I don't think I need to be geared so high, and won't notice a huge loss down low from changing out to the F7s. I'm looking to pick up 3-4 mph. Will this prop do that?

What are your suggestions? Should I swap them? I'm new to the propping area so any comments and suggestions are welcomed! Thanks in advance. Cheers - Adam

rangoneer

Cadet
Re: Should we switch from F6 to F7? Volvo DP-SM DuoProp

Forgot the essential information....sorry! 5,000 max RPM, 1.95 gear. 2003 Larson Escape 234 23' deckboat. Online says dry weight is only 4,000lbs, but it pulls a lot heavier than that. When we got it I took it to the scale and weighed the boat and the trailer at 6,700lbs with no fuel... can't imagine the trailer weigh 2700#. :eek:

Before doing the stroker the boat would top out at 49.9mph, 3 people, perfect water, and running on fumes.

As I've been tuneing the fuel for this stroker, i've noticed the most RPM via the ECU at about 4850 and GPS produces 50.5 mph with 3 people and 3/4 tank of fuel.

I've read that the F6 is 25" and the F7 is 27".

I've also read that by making a 2" change up in prop you lose 300-400 rpms so my RPM would drop to 4450 and based on a calculator @ 4450 with 27" I'd be at 51mph.

Is this correct? Can any of you provide some help please. Do it don't? Don't Do it? And any other suggestions or things I need to consider are welcomed. I'll provide any other info you need.Thanks again.

hwsiii

Commander