18' + 3.0LX prop choice for watersports..

mark1905

Chief Petty Officer
Just curious what you all would suggest..

1) Performance issue you are trying to correct - Would like best all around prop for watersports and fuel efficiency

2) Current prop manufacturer, model, aluminum or stainless and as a minimum. - Unknown manufacturer.. SS
3) Current prop diameter and pitch (required). - 14" x 19P
4) Wide open throttle RPM and speed with an average load (very helpful) - 44mph @ 5100 (Just me) / 41 mph @ 4900 (couple of people)
5) Engine/drive make, model, year, and HP - 1997 3.0LX / Alpha 1 Gen 2

6) Boat make model, year, length and weight - 1997 18' Dynasty BR @ 1775lbs dry weight

Tail_Gunner

Admiral

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: 18' + 3.0LX prop choice for watersports..

I'm not an expert but::
Isn't the 3.0 rated for a max rpm of around 4,800?Your speed seems to me very good for the boat size. and a 3.0.Is it by GPS?You may want to verify the tach is accurate before making any changes. The rpm doesn't seem out of line but running on the edge as you are would be good to know the tach isn't off.

mark1905

Chief Petty Officer

Interesting.. you would say step down to an 18 from the 19?

I'm worried about the slight redline too.. I was thinking maybe I need to go the other direction?

What would moving to a 4 blade 18 from a 3 blade 19 do overall?

mark1905

Chief Petty Officer

http://boatpropellers.iboats.com/Me.../9585/?**********=420390772&*******=771041935

That prop would give you the best top end..I am assuming your running a alum prop now

Nope.. running a SS 14x19P now..

Ok so wait, my understanding is that more pitch lowers top end RPM. If I'm redlining or over redline with my 19, why is everyone suggesting an 18P?

I know that if you switch to a 4 blade from a 3 blade then you step down one pitch, but seeing as how I'm hitting 4800-5100 at WOT and Merc suggested redline is 4400-4800, I'm leaning twords this: