Stainless steel prop brands

Bigskyboat

Seaman
I'm looking to get s stainless steel prop. I have a 3.0 Volvo penta. What kind of difference will I see in the SOLAS HR TITAN prop (which is 321$) VS. the Volvo Penta prop (519$) both are 14-3/4x17. Any input is appreciated. Thank you.

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Mercury is one of the best prop makers around. They offer over 13 different stainless lines. I have a Volvo Penta, and have been running a Mercury Enertia for 11 years now. It has been a great prop, very good holeshot, and top speed. Rarely ventilates in turns, even when trimmed out. For my purposes, it is the best prop I have run. YMMV

As for the Solas vs. VP SS, I have no experience with any Solas Prop. I have seen the VP SS, it isn't much different than their AL props.

Bigskyboat

Seaman
I guess for my purposes. Mostly fishing. I'm getting a stainless steel because they hold up better. I've read all the pros and cons on aluminum VS. stainless. I'm thinking about just going with the cheaper stainless one, after all it's just a four cylinder and I'm not going to get break neck speed no matter what prop I use. Just wanted to hear from you guys to see if I could be talked into the more expensive one.

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
img579b.jpg Well they are stronger. Here's is my SS after a few gentle caresses with a rock pile. Bent the prop shaft too

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral
Bigskyboat

Suppose it depends on what boat you have the 3.0 in.
If it's in an 18-20ft open now or light sports boat, a decent stainless can make a pretty big difference.
Totally agree with Jiimbo on the mercury range. Great props for all different purposes.
I've had superb result with a laser 2 over the years on all different sports boats. Outboards and inboards alike.

89retta

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Jimmbo was that damage done at Alberta beach ?

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Jimmbo was that damage done at Alberta beach ?