New Member Just Purchased Used Sun Tracker

Hi all, im a new member from northeast Kansas, I just purchased my first boat (Other then small aluminum fishing boats), its a 2002 sun tracker party barge 18. I bought it as a fixxer upper as the interior was pretty much shot from sitting outside most of its life, i have it all stripped down to the bare deck, just waiting for my carpet and seats to arrive later this week, I Have a few questions about the outboard, im dont know a whole lot about them, but i am a small engine mechanic and have basic mechanic abilities. Its a tracker mercury 50 hp, appears to have electric tilt, it has a rocker switch mounted on the side of the ob that says trim but im not sure how that works, my questions are, where do i check the lower end oil and what kind of oil is recomended in them, and, to replace a prop i am assuming i just take the large crown nut off of the back and it will slide off? I was thinking about trying to find some kind of service manual or maybe like a clymer repair manual for it because im not sure how long ago the impeller was replaced and i figure i can probly handle changing it myself? It has oil injection for the two cycle oil and i will probly leave it that way as apposed to mixing it and blocking that off, i have read pretty good things about mercury's oiling system. What kind of two cycle oil do most guys run, the guy that had it before ran super tech from walmart, i imagine its not the greatest oil and switching now may not make a difference anyway. If anyone has any advice for a newbie then i would love to hear it, Thanks, Sam

craigmack

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: New Member Just Purchased Used Sun Tracker