New Sylvan 8522 CNF with RPT tubes Cracked welds

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomr50

Seaman Apprentice
well I guess the worst has happend for any new Pontoon owner. I keep the boat moored at a lake in the DFW area. I come out to the harbor and see the boat listing on the port side and the starboard pontoon is also low in the water.

Well my fears were confirmed when I pulled the boat out and BOTH pontoons are leaking. The bottom welds on the cones right where they are connected to the main tubes are cracked. CRACKED! now I'm no expert in welding but my father was a pipeline welder his entire adult and I worked for him for 5 years life so i know a weld is stronger than the metal and would only crack if not welded correctly.

Now, I really don't want some patch job so I told the dealer I wan't my money back or a new boat. I don't think I am being unreasonable since my family and kids are on this boat. Now I've been told that It really can't sink because of the flotation stuff in the pontoons, but didn't they say something like the Titanic couldn't sink either??

I left a message with my saleslady and told her about the cracks, wanting my money back, or a new boat and would like a call back. I get a call back from someone in the service department and called me and said "Barbara (saleslady) told me to call you and you were having a problem with your boat!!!! Really, the saleslady wouldn't call me?? So that pisses me off further and ask to speak with the owner and was told he is out and they would give him the message.

ok, that was me venting. had this boat for less than 2 months. Now i'm looking at missing the summer.

Am I being unrealistic to ask for my money back or another boat?? Has anybody else had similar problems with the RPT toons? Had pontoons patched??

--tom

MH Hawker

Vice Admiral
Re: New Sylvan 8522 CNF with RPT tubes Cracked welds