rain leaks around snap on cover

samis7

Recruit
I have a new custom made cover for my 22' Sweetwater. The snaps are just below the rail around the boat and along the bottom of the deck in the front. Everytime it rains, I find a wet floor around the side doors and in a few other places. I thought the cover would prevent water from coming in and would keep my boat dry. Since I am new to pontoon boating, I am not sure if I should be trying to keep the floor dry or not. Is the carpet designed to get wet repeatedly or should I try to keep it dry? Do I need a complete cover over the entire hull down to the pontoons? I trailer with the cover on, and did not experience any problems. Is this a mistake?

lmuss53

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: rain leaks around snap on cover

I would not trailer with the cover on unless you know it is designed to withstand sustained 50 and 60 mph winds, some are, but most aren't.

I would go back to the guy that made the cover and ask him why it is leaking where it is. I would think that a new custom made cover would be relatively water tight.

Your carpet is designed for the outdoors, but like anything else the longer you keep from all of the elements like the rain and sun the longer it will be nice.

EGlideRider

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I've never seen a cover that was 100% water tight. A little water on the carpet will not hurt anything unless left unattended for a long time. Mildew can build up if sufficient air flow is not allowed. If electric is available, use a small fan or dehumidifier. Otherwise, open it up even more to allow for air flow and don't worry about a little water.

5150abf

Vice Admiral

It is a boat and is intended to get wet and the covers aren't suppose to completely seal the boat, if they did then water from swimming ect would never dry and you would have a terrible mildew problem.

The carpet and wood in the baot are designed to get wet so you are fine.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner