24' Pontoon w/ Trolling Motor As Primary Help

The Hitman

Recruit
Hello, Newbie here, I have a incredible deal on a 24' 2 toon Boat, the problem is the lake where i camp is electric motor's only, now ive seen 80lb and 101lb trolling motors but i was wondering if it is possible or smart to one of these trolling motors as the primary motor and your thoughts/tips/suggestions. Thanks.

J JACKSON

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 24' Pontoon w/ Trolling Motor As Primary Help

as long as its not a big lake it should work fine my 65 pound thrust motor pushes my toon well. i would think a 100 pound would work real good

Jeep Man

Commander

I'd look into some of the electric outboards that are available.

5150abf

Vice Admiral

There is a company called Torquedo(sp) that makes electric outboards, they go on the transom and steer just like a regular engine only they are electric, probably a litle more expensive than a troller but they are made to do what you want to do.

lmuss53

Lieutenant Junior Grade

MinnKota also makes electric outboards, steered at the helm and with hand controls.

fubar007

Cadet

Electric Outboards can run THOUSANDS along with needing a massive battery bank. I run a cheepie 55 pound Watersnake trolling motor on my Crest III 28' or is it 29???? 5.8 MPH GPS speed wide open. 3.5 at half speed. It is almost us less in a good windy day! Normally crusing at half throttle a deep cycle lasts me 8 hours. I would suggest a min. 4 batteries for an all day cruise at full power. My motor draws nearly 50 AMPS at full load.

EGlideRider

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Yea, the electric outboards are expensive. Go with the 100 lb. thrust. It'll move the boat quite well in all but the highest of winds.

newbie4life

Chief Petty Officer