Need advice about what to buy; Saturn SD330 or Zodiac Zoom 310S

1fxstbi

Recruit
Hello all,
Newbie here, I have a Mercury 9.9 four stroke short shaft outboard and I'd like to get an inflatable for it. I'm tossed up between the Saturn and the Zodiac. Never having one can I get some opinions on what would be the better choice? We (wife and I) will be using it in some salt water near the gulf and fresh water lakes, doing some fishing and just cruising. I just want something safe and that will handle the OB I already have. I would like to keep my purchase under a thousand dollars. Thanks in advance!

Chopperbill

Petty Officer 1st Class
I have the 365 and like it pretty much. However, my biggest grip is the rear bench seat is located too close to the transome. Makes it tough to control the tiller. I put in the seat frame and cured that, however I had to remove the front bench because it was in my way then. If you are not stuck on undered a thousand you can get the Saturn Azzurro Mare for a couple of hindered more. Heaver material, five year warranty, more bow room and bench seats are spaced further from the transome. I learned all this after I purchased. I would buy the Azzuro now. No nothing about Zodiac but I wasn't overly impressed with them. Had two guys say they were not any better than any others. But we know what opinions are like.
Link attached for the Azzurro

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
Although the AM are much better sibs than standard ones, bear in mind that all their models have air decks, nice thing about them is that weight much less than a traditional wooren or alum floor, can be inflated and removed quickly. Down issue is that air decks need to be inflated to 12-14 PSI high pressure in order to achieve best water performance. If not, there will be too much deck flexing against water which will increment hull drag, worst if counting with a underpowered engine for that size sib.