RIB an Hydrofoil

tinasdude

Cadet
I have a 10' 2" Bombard RIB. 5 hp Nissan 4 stroke tiller. Have been reading for a couple of days. It is almost unanimous that that a foil will help this size boat, style and power. I am having great difficulty in finding something that will work with this motor. Stingray jr a no from what I have read. Please any advice or direction would be appreciated. And yes I will get a tiller extender.

jrs_diesel

Chief Petty Officer
Re: RIB an Hydrofoil

I have a Bombard that is one size smaller (9'6" i think), it's the Max 3+, SIB.

What issue are you having, difficulty planing?

If you are looking for more power, that 5 HP Nissan you have is a carburetor change away from being a 6 HP. Tohatsu makes all of the small Nissans, Mercury's, and Evinrudes. The 4/5/6 Hp engines are in the same engine family, the only difference being the carb.

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner

Yep, what's your tech difficulty to start with. To plane a 10"2 with a small 5 HP engine is sometimes mission impossible, assume that rib is rated for at least a 10 HP ? with just 5 HP, good for fast displacement speeds. If your probelm is planning, try sitingt at middle deck the most forward to bow, go full wot, depending on your current weight probably will plane with you alone.

Your alternatives would be : upgrade that 5 to 6 HP (carb swap) to count with 1 more HP or get the largest HP engine transom rated for. A small rib has too much hull drag, needs a engine with instant power to overcome water drag from a dead stop.- Don't buy a Jr. Doel fin, it's useless.-

Happy Boating

tinasdude

Cadet

Yep, what's your tech difficulty to start with. To plane a 10"2 with a small 5 HP engine is sometimes mission impossible, assume that rib is rated for at least a 10 HP ? with just 5 HP, good for fast displacement speeds. If your probelm is planning, try sitingt at middle deck the most forward to bow, go full wot, depending on your current weight probably will plane with you alone.