inflatable or cuddy cabin for a family of four?

photographer

Seaman Apprentice
I am looking to buy a small boat for my family. I am looking into an inflatable (Avon, Novurania, Achilles, AB) up to 16-18 feet long or a 20 feet cuddy cabin.

Which one would you recommend? Any advantages or disadvantages?

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
I have no experience with inflatables. Only thing I know I read recently on the Ballistic RIB. A cuddy is nice to get in out of the weather and if you want to stay dry in rough water.....course the Ballistic looked like it took rough water just fine. Cuddy's can be hot in the summer when there is no air circulating but warm in winter blocking the wind. Got to be careful that they don't get loaded up with junk like a lot of garages. If you need a place for the potty and some privacy that's the cuddy. The older you get the more you will enjoy this feature.

HTH,
Mark

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral
Really this is gonna depend on what you wanna do...

One has limited cockpit space and a minimal sheltered area.... Not great for any use but versatile and fair for a lot of uses...

The other is open with seating all around but not comfortable.... Generally best when the boat selection is secondary.. IE diving, transportation to a bigger boat, etc.

This question is about like asking us if you should buy mayonnaise or hot sauce without telling us what you're cooking.

Instead how about you tell us how you envision you day on the water (details) and we help you match up with a boat that fits.

Also what is your experience level.

Last edited:

cptrick3

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I agree with smokeonthewater. It's like comparing apples and watermelons.

four winns 214

Senior Chief Petty Officer
With family? Cuddy, no question. My friend has an inflatable. Little room, low freeboard, no protection from breeze under way. It is easy on gas.

pckeen

Commander
That's two totally different boats, for two totally different purposes.