Looking for a new boat

robinsbd

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am currently looking to purchase a cuddy cabin boat. I want a boat to use for day boating, but also have the ability to do some overnight camping. My primary requirement is that I must be able to operate the boat solo including docking, undocking, etc. I would also expect to have 2 - 3 adult passengers from time to time. This requirement leads me to look for smaller cuddy cabin boats. I have had some solo boating experience with a 14' fiberglass fishing boat. So, I know that I am capable of handling a boat on my own. So far, I have been looking at the Sea Ray 215 Express Cruiser. This seems like a very nice boat with a lot of capability.

Here are a couple of listings that have peaked my interest:

http://www.boattrader.com/listing/1997-Sea-Ray-215-Express-Cruiser-102358427
http://www.boattrader.com/listing/1999-Sea-Ray-215EC-102452116

I am interested in what the experts on iboats.com think about these boats. Are these good quality boats? Is the engine a good model that has a good track record? Can I easily get the engines serviced? Am I on the right track looking at this Sea Ray model? Do you think these are fair prices for the boats I have listed? Also, I am interested if people have suggestions for other makes and models that fit what I want to do.

Thanks for all the help. I don't have a lot of posts on here yet, but I have lurked for a while and really find the different topics on here fascinatating and fun to read.

Brian

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Sea Ray and Grady-White are generally regarded as two of the top brands. The Mercruiser inboard-outdrive is relatively trouble free and parts are easy to get.