16' aluminum vs 20mph wind. ..

ccarver80

Petty Officer 1st Class
Took my 16' aluminun boat out this weekend. The wind for being in North Dakota really wasn't that bad, I'm new to boating but it seemed to be a pain to try trolling in the wind! It seemed the front of my boat was way to light and the wind kept blowing my front off course and back to shOre. I have a 25hp motor, 50lbs tolling motor, me (170lbs) deep cycle battery and gas tank all in the back, should I buy some sand bags to throw up front if I'm fishing by myself To help level out some weight?

Suggestions?

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral
You could try it... Might help some by lowering the boat in the water a bit
But a 20 mph wind would blow anything around... Heck that would make low speed operation of my 10,000 lb cruiser a PITA

It's not so much a matter of weight as it's a matter of freeboard (area above the water) and lack of friction (resistance to movement) of an object floating in water.

A bow mounted trolling motor would do better upwind and a drift sock would help downwind.

ccarver80

Petty Officer 1st Class
Yeah ....it sucks living in ND.... checked the 10 day forecast windy at least 5 days.....But it only is spring... lots of warm days + cold days seem to screw with the wind speed ... or something like that.... lol

gm280

Supreme Mariner
WOW with 20 mph head wind, I'm surprised you could keep it in the water. I have never trolled in that much wind, but I do know about trolling into wind. It makes for a stressful day trying to keep headway straight. With 20mph wind there would be whitecaps all over the place. But I do have to ask, did you catch anything? That is the really important question!

ccarver80

Petty Officer 1st Class
Haha no I wanted to just get it out and do a demo run of everything... good thing to sonar didn't work...and some other kinks I need to iron out lol

frustratedboater

Chief Petty Officer