Bow Thruster alternative

amanphoto

Petty Officer 1st Class
I was wondering if I put two through hole fittings the bow of my boat. One on each side. Then connect two a high flow water pumps to them. If I pump water out the fitting on the opposite side of the boat that I want the bow to move to. Will it shift the bow? I don't need a lot of power. Just enough to shift it over for docking. I have a 25' fiberglass boat. My thought is this will be a cheep and easy way to aid in docking. I've seen trolling motor type that are bolted to the bow, but they look ugly. Thoughts?

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Whether this would work or not depends on lots of factors so here are a few things to consider:

1) You probably plan to use an electric motor to drive the pump. That would require a big motor/
2) What size plumbing are you thinking about for the thruster? I'm not a hydraulics engineer but I would guess you need something on the order of 2-1/2 inch diameter or larger.
3) The volume of water you need to push to move the boat requires a big pump (high volume) which again requires a big motor which requires something more than 12 volts and probably on the order of 36 volts which requires a boat-load of batteries.

Are you now thinking this may not be the best way to destroy the value of your boat?

H20Rat

Vice Admiral
No... Simply not feasible in the size boat you are talking about. The size of the tubing and required pump would be LARGE

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Newton's law: For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. Thrust is a function of mass times velocity squared--that is a small amount of water at a very high speed will generate the same thrust as a large amount of water at a slow speed. That is why the jet system can replace the propeller bow thruster.