Another newbie boat buying topic.

jec6

Cadet
Hi All,

Thanks for indulging in another new forum member who wants to buy his first boat thread. I have read the sticky, searched the forums and have a decent mechanical understanding of the workings of a boat. I would like some advice from experienced owners on my specific situation and a better understanding of how boat brands compare, what features to look for etc. I appreciate any feedback I get.

First, a quick introduction. I'm a 40 yr old engineer with a wife and 3 kids that lives in PA. In the fall last year, my family was fortunate enough to buy a 2nd home in the finger lakes. We've vacationed up there for the last 6 yrs and fell in love with the area. Each year we've rented either a Glastron or Larson 185 BR and used it for skiing, tubing, fishing and general boat enjoyment. The kids love the water. We've never owned a power boat, but are on our kayaks and canoes all the time.

So now that we have the lake house, the next logical place to waste money is on a boat. I'm a complete noob when it comes to boat ownership, so I would like some help from anyone on the board that can point me in the right direction.

I'm leaning towards a 2007+ 175 to 200 class bowrider. My budget needs to stay under $20k, with my wife's goal being closer to $10. It seems like most major boat manufacturers use the same Merc 3.0 engine with Alpha outdrive. Are there major differences between the Merc, and the Volvo Penta that would push me towards one over the other? How much less maintenance do you have w/ a FI engine vs a Carb? Is the step up to FI worth what seems like a $3k premium in price?