Gas fumes in stern area

luva63

Petty Officer 2nd Class
OK,I'm stumped. I covered up my Aristocraft 19 for the winter to keep it from getting so dirty setting in the basement(burn wood for heat). Well,I keep getting fumes as if it was a gas can with the lid off. I've checked everything that I can think of, pulled the sending unit and access cover,put gas resistant gasket sealer on the rubber gaskets of them both. Had a 1/2 tank of non-ethanol premium with stabil mixed in. Today I removed 99% of the gas. What am I missing?? This is my first I/O,so I'm still learning. Here's some pics. If anyone sees something I need to do, any help appreciated.

Attachments

• photo212589.jpg
    photo212589.jpg
    56.5 KB · Views: 0
  • photo212590.jpg
    photo212590.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 0
  • photo212591.jpg
    photo212591.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 0
  • photo212592.jpg
    photo212592.jpg
    43.1 KB · Views: 0
  • photo212593.jpg
    photo212593.jpg
    55.2 KB · Views: 0
  • photo212594.jpg
    photo212594.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 0
  • photo212595.jpg
    photo212595.jpg
    66.7 KB · Views: 0

alldodge

Staff member
The fumes your smelling is normal, but burning wood in the basement can be a dangerous issue IMO. As the area heats up fuel in the tank expands and fumes come out the tank vent. The vent is unlike the one on a car. A cars tank vents to a canister which allows for expansion, the boats tank vents to the atmosphere. The vent line is the smaller red line. I would not keep a boat in a basement where a wood burner is.

Last edited:

keith2k455

Chief Petty Officer
I agree with not storing the boat in the basement where you burn wood....lots of potential for disaster. I keep mine in the garage, but had to pull the cover off the back corners to keep all the fumes from getting trapped underneath. I figure when the garage doors open that vents the garage well.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner