1982 Baja rebuild

RIkoSuave55

Cadet
I found this 1982 Baja on Craigslist. I was able to get it, the motor and the trailer for 300 bux! the owner just bought a boat and he just wanted rid of this boat. He claims the motor ran decently last summer (2013) and he gutted the interior but thats as far as he got.
Im a novice. I own a 14 foot aluminum fishing boat. I love to boat but i could never really afford it. Im thinking with this boat of lining it with plywood, covering it in marine carpet and using it mostly for fishing , maybe tow the kids around in a tube or two.

It looks like alot of great information on this forum and im willing to put in some work to find out info. Im hoping to get some help from some people on this forum and im also hoping to get pointed in the right direction. Got an opinion? Know any good resources? Let them fly here.

The trailer is in great shape and the motor looks to be in great shape. The hull has no cracks . SO im thinking i couan line her with plywood and be fishing next summer? I live in the great state of michigan and with 30 miles of 20-30 lakes. Bass fishing is what i love to do. Let me know what you think IMG_0761.JPG IMG_0763.JPG IMG_0762.JPG IMG_0765.JPG

Streffpilot

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Go to the boat restoration and repair section on this very forum. You will have more information than you will know what to do with.

As a starting point, I would remove the old deck, and drill test holes in the stringers & transom. If they are wet and rotted, or the foam is waterlogged, you bought yourself a $300 going on $1500- $2000 project.

Hope you like the f'glass itch. I hear some forum members feel lonely without it. They will chime in soon enough.

A moderator may want to move this to the restoration page so don't be surprised if that happens.

81 Checkmate

Lieutenant
What the heck is the yellow thing in the boat?