is marine oil good enough for other 2- cycle use?

guy48065

Chief Petty Officer
While fiddling around with a garage-sale chainsaw I downloaded and read the old manual. In it I was surprised to read the caution NOT to use BIA marine oil/gas mix in the saw because it doesn't have the necessary additives for an air-cooled engine. I've never seen a warning like this and have been running my chainsaws, trimmers and outboards off the same 40:1 mix of synthetic marine oil/gas for years. Can this cause damage. .. or is this an obsolete warning that's not true for modern marine oils? How about you -- do you have different jugs for different motors?

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
TCW3 is formulated for cooler running engines. Will it hurt to run it in air-cooled motors - I have no idea. I do have two different jugs myself.

NYBo

Admiral
It will supposedly coke up in air cooled motors due to the higher temps. I have no personal experience one way or the other; I've always used the oil recommended for air cooled motors in my chain saw and string trimmers. Synthetic TCW oil may stand up to the higher temps.

Last edited:
Yep, there are oil specifications for water cooled engines and different oil specs for air cooled engines because of the differences in operating temperature. With that being said I have on occasion run my chain saw with boat gas because I didn't have anything else available and it's still going strong years later. I've also read (but don't have any information handy) that some oils are listed for meeting both sets of specs.

guy48065

Chief Petty Officer
Gas shelf life is supposedly short --i was hoping to stick with one mix in order for it to always be fresh.

guy48065

Chief Petty Officer
Wait a minute... one of my outboards is an old Sears that's AIR COOLED! Oh my head. ..

Last edited:

JoLin

Vice Admiral