Oregon Boater looking for advice

DarenD68

Recruit
Hi folks, I've just joined the forum, and am considering purchasing a boat for our family of 5. Both my wife and I have had some experience with smaller runabouts and sail boats (I owned an 18ft Mariah bow rider which I frequently took over from Long Beach, Ca to Catalina Island in my misguided 20's) but no experience in the 28-32 ft range, which is where we want to be at. The idea behind buying a boat, is to immerse ourselves in the lifetyle and spend weekends aboard in scenic locations whenever possible. The boat that catches my eye is the Cruisers Yachts 280 cxi and there is one for sale in Seattle:
http://www.yachtworld.com/boats/200...tt-North-Marina/WA/United-States#.VBn-E-eSNzM
Its the right layout for us and our 8,9 and 11 year old kids (it sleeps 6) and I think, is the right size.

My plan is to rent a covered slip at Rocky Point Mariner on the Multnomah Channel, fairly close to downtown Portland, and use the boat for adventures on the Channel, Willamette, Columbia river and maybe the Lewis river.

My main question revolves around destinations, overnight boating and the conditions that a boat of that size would be comfortable cruising in bearing in mind the kiddos will be aboard. Now I'm not saying I'm heading for the San Juans right out of the gate, but I would like to go farther afield as long as we have a safe mooring situation at days end.

Do I have the right idea in order to give my kids some great memories?
Any help much appreciated and just know that safety is my very first priority so I will be taking everything very slowly.

Cheers

Daren